In Târgu Jiu:
The Church Saint Apostles Peter and Paul is located on the line of Heroes Path and was integrated in Brancusi`s creation, acting as a bond between the elements of the sculptures ensemble.
Built on the grounds of a former church that dated in 1777, the building was rebuilt between 1927 and 1938 and opened at the same time as Brancusi`s masterpieces, 7 November 1937. The Neobyzantine style painting was done by Gorj painter Iosif Keber.
Saint Voivodes Church, located in Victoria Square in front of the Communal Palace, is buit by the merchants Dobre Sirbu and Radu Cupetu, whose portraits can be seen in narthex. The construction was done between 1748-1764, the building also being known as Merchants Church, Lordly Church or even Jiu Church. It has suffered a few refurbishments throughut time, but its original shape is unaltered.
- Tg. Cărbuneşti – wall church, St. Ioan Botezătorul, 1780, original interior paintings; Lărgeşti (town Tg. Cărbuneşti): hermitage Logreşti, 1718, in ruins today, only the church St. Voievozi with unique original paintings is kept;
- Baia de Fier: „All Saints” Church (1749-1753), original paintings, perimeter walls;
- Bălceşti (comm. Bengeşti – Ciocadia): church St. Ilie, 1732, with original frescos;
- Bengeşti (comm. Bengeşti – Ciocadia): church St. Voievozi 1729, original frescos, perimeter walls;
- Bâlteni (comm. Bâlteni): church St. Vasile and St. ÎEmperors, 1826;
- Glogova (comm. Glogova): church St. Nicolae, 1730;
- Larga (comm. Samarineşti): wall church „St. Ilie”, 1826;
- Poiana (town Rovinari): wall church, cen. XIX;